Aaaaaah… Saturdays.

SSS bubbleWomen play a boatload of roles throughout the week and so many times we find ourselves drowning with stress and guilt over splitting our priorities. We accomplish three things at once while others look on in awe or exhaustion… it’s just how we roll. Sometimes my head feels like it’s going to explode with all the stuff coming at me.

After starting to snowboard 7 years ago… I found that I have been able to train my brain to focus better and let go of all the piddly tasks, lists and responsibilities… at least for day. It’s probably mostly because if you don’t pay absolute attention when you’re on the mountain, you could die. (Let’s call it how it is – it’s a friggin dangerous sport.) But an even bigger reason is that snowboarding is something that defines who you are and is something that can encompass you. It can even make you feel like you have a secret alter ego – like you’re this chick who dashes into the other room to throw on snow pants with a studded belt and a bandana and emerges a total bad ass.

As soon as that alarm goes off on Saturday mornings, I wake up happier than I do all week knowing that today… I don’t have to be the chauffeur all over town, I don’t have to answer email after email or make dinner (chicken fingers on the mountain, baby!), I don’t have to log any training miles, coach any kids and I don’t have to be anywhere for ANYone at a particular time. My family and I head to the mountain of choice for that day and that is all we do. That’s all we HAVE to do.

I suppose this feeling of freedom can apply to any activity or hobby… mine just happens to be flying down a mountain with my feet strapped to a board that’s millimeters thick. The important thing for anyone who is stretched to their limits to remember is that you HAVE to find time for yourself with something you love to do to keep yourself balanced, sane, creative and healthy. It can be something as dangerously awesome as snowboarding… or it can be knitting (no offense, knitters… but where’s the EXHILARATION???). Pick your poison, but be sure to enjoy it regularly and not feel one once of guilt… because Monday morning you’ll trade your boots for heels and your board for a briefcase and be right back at it. Thank goodness for Saturdays. And even more thanks for snowboarding.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lol, leave us knitters alone! Someone has to knit all of those dope beanies for snowboarders! 😉

    Reply
  2. So true… BEANIES!!!! 🙂 I didn’t even think of that! haha

    Reply

Leave a comment